Aurora University

President's Biography

Dr. Rebecca L. Sherrick became the 13th president of Aurora University in 2000 after serving for 20 years as a faculty member and senior administrator at Carroll University in Waukesha, Wisconsin. 

Sherrick was born in Carthage, Illinois, and attended Illinois Wesleyan University (IWU) in Bloomington, Illinois, as an undergraduate. She was elected as a student laureate to the Lincoln Academy of Scholars and earned her bachelor's in history, summa cum laude, in 1975. IWU recognized her achievements with the awarding of an honorary Doctor of Humane letters degree in 2001. 

Sherrick attended Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, for doctoral studies on a William Randolph Hearst Fellowship and completed her PhD in history with specializations in American and Latin American history in 1980. She is active in a wide range of professional and civic organizations.